If I was Domestic…

One newlywed's journey to domesticity.

The Little Black Book February 10, 2010

Filed under: Cooking & Baking — ifiwasdomestic @ 9:30 am
Tags: ,

If I was domestic…I’d be too classy to open a post with this story.

In high school I was a cheerleader.  I also dated a lot of boys.  Some would call me “boy crazy,” some, like my cheerleading coach (Amy – I hope you read this one!), liked to tease me for it.  One year the coaches bought me a jumbo spiral bound notebook with a black cover.  They wrote on it “Steph’s Black Book.”  So since I’m now married and no longer have a use for my black book, I’ve replaced it with a RECIPE BOOK!  I know, I know, just as exciting!

Andy got me this cookbook for Christmas 2007.  I had just started cooking and thought it would be neat to have a book you can write in.  My dream is someday my daughter or granddaughter will have all our favorite recipes in my handwriting.  Fun right?  I’ve almost filled my first one, but luckily my cousin Michelle had the same idea and made me another one for our wedding! 

This particular journal is really cool.  It’s got all the lines to fill in and on the back of each page there is an area for notes.  I love jotting down memories about special occasions or funny things that happened surrounding the recipes.

You can get your own like this here.  Our friends the Broyles had the same brand of Guest Book at their River House.  Very nifty!

 

2 Responses to “The Little Black Book”

  1. Mica Says:

    You crack me up, Steph! Love the recipe idea. Did you put in the covered baker chicken recipe?

    • It’s just like your Mom’s River book! I’d love to take a look at that thing haha!! I need to add the recipe you gave me…thinking of using my original recipe as a blog post haha!


Leave a comment